Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET) together with its Industrial Linkage Committee (ILC) hosted an annual virtual Industrial Advisory Panel (IAP) Meeting and Industry Forum, recently. Eight Industrial Advisory Panels (IAPs) of four respective engineering programmes of FET: Bachelor of Engineering (Hons.) Electronics majoring in Telecommunications (TE), Bachelor of Engineering (Hons.) Electronics majoring in Robotics & Automation (RE), Bachelor of Engineering (Hons.) Mechanical (ME), and Diploma in Mechanical Engineering (DME) were invited to participate in the one-day event.

The session was kicked off with an opening speech delivered by Associate Professor Dr. Fazly Salleh Abas, the Dean of FET. In his speech, he also announced the good news that both Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Mechanical and Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) Electronics majoring in Telecommunications programmes have just been awarded a six-year accreditation from the Engineering Accreditation Council Malaysia (EAC) recently. After the opening session, the panelists were assigned to individual programme breakout presentation session led by the respective Programme Coordinator (PC): Dr. Lim Tian Sze (TE PC), Dr. Chua Ming Yam (RE PC), Dr. Lim Boon Kian (ME PC), and Mr. Jee Kian Siong (DME PC). In the afternoon session, an online industry forum entitled “Bridging the shortage of engineering talent: What can we do?” featuring the perspectives of panelists across multidisciplinary engineering fields was conducted and participated by the faculty staff and students.

The organiser would like to express its gratitude to the following panelists for their valuable time in attending the virtual IAP meeting and industry forum to make the event a success. The names are listed in no particular order: Mr. Klaus Jurgen Heer, Director of Assembly Design Sdn. Bhd.; Dr. Chin Wai Meng, Head of Division (Development Support) of Daikin Research & Development Malaysia Sdn. Bhd.; Ir. Goh Su Kin, Senior Mill Engineer of Lenga Palmoil Industries Sdn. Bhd.; Mr. Syahril bin M. Azmi, Chief Operating Officer & Director of Honda Assembly (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.; Mr. Goh Ser Heng, Director & Co-founder of Bodibasixs Manufacturing Sdn. Bhd.; Mr. Tan Cheah Heng, Distinguished Member of Technical Staff of Motorola Solutions, Malaysia; Dr. Diong Kah Seng, VP of Technical Services ZTE Malaysia and Mr. Teo Tze Earn, Executive Director, Xepa-Soul Pattinson Sdn. Bhd.