Leadership

Known not just for its excellence in teaching but also its research efforts, MMU has recruited people of the highest calibre to lead the path. As chancellors, president, board of directors, deans and the management committee, they assist MMU by providing invaluable advice and support in helping to ensure MMU’s continued growth and success.

CHANCELLOR

YABHG. TUN DATO’ SERI ZAKI TUN AZMI


The Honourable Tun Zaki Tun Azmi was born on September 12, 1945 in Alor Setar, Kedah. He had his early education at Sultan Abdul Hamid College, Alor Setar, Anderson School, Ipoh and English College, Johor Bahru. He then read law in the Lincoln’s Inn, London and obtained a Barrister-at-Law in 1969.

Tun Zaki Tun Azmi came from a family of lawyers. His father was the first in the line of Azmi lawyers. His deceased brother was the next which was followed by him. His second son and daughter-in-law are lawyers too. So is his wife who happens to be a first class student from the International Islamic University Malaysia but now a housewife. His father was the second Malay Chief Justice of Malaysia, then known as the Lord President (1968 to 1974).

After having been in practice with an established law firm he was invited to be elevated to the bench as a Federal Judge. Prior to being in practice, he was in the Malaysian Judicial and Legal Service for 15 years, joining as a Magistrate then later transferred to the Attorney Generals Chambers where he held several positions until he resigned to go into practice. While in practice he also sat on several public listed companies as a director as well as chairman or member of Board Audit Committees. Amongst which he participated were PETRONAS (the national oil company, which today has spread it wings throughout the world), Malaysia Airport Berhad and SP Setia. Perhaps it was this management experience that the CJ brought into the Judiciary to make it what it is today.

After holding office as a Federal Judge for a few months he was appointed as the President of Court of Appeal, the second highest judicial office. On 18th October 2008, he was appointed to be the 12th Chief Justice of Malaysia. With the establishment of the Judicial Appointment Commission, he became the first Chairman since 16th February 2009.

Tun Zaki is known for his success in getting rid of age old backlog problems faced by the Malaysian courts and ensuring more than 90 percent of currently registered cases to be disposed of within nine months of registration. This is the fastest in any common law countries. He did within less than three years during his term of office as the 11th Chief Justice of Malaysia.

PRO-CHANCELLOR

YBHG. ACADEMICIAN TAN SRI DR. ZAKRI ABDUL HAMID


Tan Sri Zakri was born in Bentong, Pahang, in 1948. Since 2010, he has served as the science adviser to the Prime Minister of Malaysia. He is also a Joint Chairman, Malaysian Industry-Government Group for High Technology (MIGHT), Chairman of Malaysian Biotechnology Corporation (BIOTECHCORP), and Chairman of Board of Advisers, UNU-International Institute on Global Health.

His academic qualification includes a Bachelor of Science, Louisiana State University (1972), a Master’s degree in Science (1974) and Ph.D (1976) from Michigan State University, USA. His professional interests include crop science, biodiversity and science diplomacy. He has produced a number of publication and papers that are related to his interests. Three species have been named after him; a beetle (Paleosepharia zakrii), a cicada (Pomponia zakrii) and a pitcher plant (Nepenthes zakriana).

Throughout his career, Tan Sri Zakri is also frequently invited to be a keynote speaker at national and international environment, sustainable development and science and technology-related conferences. In addition, he has a significant international profile and a strong research reputation. He also brings extensive experience and demonstrated management ability from a range of tertiary education roles in Malaysia.

Tan Sri Zakri has received numerous awards and recognitions including Fulbright-Hays Fellowship (1981), Rotary Research Foundation Gold Medal Award (1999), ISSAAS Matsuda Award (2013), Merdeka Award for Excellent Achievement in the Environment (2015), Matsuda Award of International Society for Southeast Asian Agricultural Sciences (2013), Social Innovation Leadership Award (2016), ASEAN Biodiversity Heroes (2017) and many more.

Multimedia University (MMU) is managed by the Board of Directors in strict accordance with the requirements of the Act and the Companies Act 2016. As prescribed under Memorandum and Articles of Association of the Company, the Board of Directors shall have powers in regulating, controlling and managing the finances of the University.

BALASINGHAM-square
BALASINGHAM A. NAMASIWAYAM



SARINAH ABU BAKAR



Ts. NOOR MOHD HELMI NONG HADZMI


The Board of Governors (BOG) of MMU is composed of esteemed leaders who shall be the governing, policy making and monitoring body of the University.

ts-rahamat-bivi

TAN SRI DR. RAHAMAT BIVI YUSOFF
(Chairman)


Datuk Syed Othman
DATUK DR. SYED OTHMAN SYED HUSSIN ALHABSHI


BALASINGHAM-square
BALASINGHAM A. NAMASIWAYAM



SARINAH ABU BAKAR



DATO’ RAFA’AI SAMSI


President-CEO-Square
PROF. DATO’ DR. MAZLIHAM MOHD SU’UD



Prof.Ir.Dr. Wong
PROF. IR. DR. WONG HIN YONG



Pn Azurah Rezo
NUR AZURAH REZO
(Secretary)

President-CEO-Square

PRESIDENT & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER (CEO)

YBHG. PROF. DATO’ DR. MAZLIHAM MOHD SU’UD


Professor Dato’ Dr. Mazliham is the 5th President of Multimedia University (MMU). Born on 8th September 1967 in Johor, Professor Dato’ Dr. Mazliham went to Europe at the age of 19. He attended the Université de Montpellier 2 – Sciences et Techniques du Languedoc, in Montpellier, France. There, he earned his diploma in 1989, his Bachelor of Science (Hons) in Electronics, Electrotechniques and Automation in 1991, his Master of Science in Electronics, Electrotechniques and Automation in 1992, and his Post Master Degree in Electronics in 1993. In 2008, he earned his Ph.D. in Computer Engineering from the Université de La Rochelle, France, accomplishing the Very Honourable Class of achievement.

He began his career with a one-year-plus stint as an engineer with SGS Thompson Microelectronics, before joining the Malaysia France Institute in 1996 as the Deputy Head of Department (Electrical Equipment and Installation). In 2013, he was appointed the President and CEO of Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL). In recognition of his outstanding leadership and capabilities, he was selected to lead MMU as President and CEO, effective August 2020.

He started his research in prediction and reasoning with uncertainty by using the Dempster-Shafer Theory. He has served on numerous postgraduate examination committees, as well as supervised PhD and Masters students in the area of Artificial Intelligence, especially in Machine Learning and Deep Learning with different application areas such as Medical Image Processing for early detection of Brain Tumour and Breast Cancer, Remote Sensing techniques in Smart Agriculture, Green IoT, improving efficiency in Power Grid, efficient load balancing in Software Defined Network, etc. Apart from that, he also worked on Data Filtering and Data Classification and has lead research teams based in Malaysia, Bahrain, Kuwait, Pakistan, UAE, France and Saudi Arabia. His various research groups have published more than 100 research articles in Scopus-indexed journals, book chapters and well reputed conferences.

Over the years, he has served many cornerstone roles, and has accomplished a host of other achievements. One significant undertaking was his spearheading the Higher Technical and Vocational Education & Training (HTVET), an initiative designed to improve recognition and acceptance towards human capital who have undergone vocational and technical training. At present, he is the Malaysian Director for the Malaysia-France University Centre (MFUC).

In 2013, Professor Dato’ Dr. Mazliham was conferred the Darjah Sri Sultan Ahmad Shah Pahang (D.S.A.P.) award, which carries the title Dato’. In 2015, he was conferred the Chevalier de l’Ordre national du Mérite by the Government of France. This accolade is a universal order of merit honouring individuals with significant contributions to the nation of France. In September 2020, he was honoured by the Government of Italy, which conferred him the Italian Knight of the Order of Merit.


SENATE (PRESIDENT / VICE PRESIDENTS / DEANS)


Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mazliham Mohd Su’ud
President / Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Prof. Ir. Dr. Wong Hin Yong
Vice President, Academic and Innovative Learning (VP AIR)

Prof. Ir. Dr. Hairul Azhar Abdul Rashid
Vice President, Market Exploration, Engagement and Touchpoint (VP MEET)

Prof. Dr. Wong Eng Kiong
Vice President, Student Experience and Entrepreneurship Development (VP SEED)

Dr. Sharlene Thiagarajah
CEO, Telekom Research and Development Sdn. Bhd. (TM R&D)

Prof. Ts. Dr. Tee Connie
Dean, Institute for Postgraduate Studies (IPS)

Prof. Ts. Dr. Lau Siong Hoe
Dean, Faculty of Information Science and Technology (FIST)

Assoc. Prof. Ir. Ts. Dr. Ng Poh Kiat
Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET)

Ms. Nadia Mahmud
Dean, Faculty of Creative Multimedia (FCM)

Dr. Siti Zakiah Melatu Samsi
Dean, Faculty of Business (FOB)

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ooi Chee Pun
Dean, Faculty of Engineering (FOE)

Ts. Dr. Low Jing Hong
Dean, Faculty of Management (FOM)

Dr. Mokhtarrudin Ahmad
Dean, Faculty of Applied Communication (FAC)

Prof. Dr. Abdul Mohaimin Noordin Ayus
Dean, Faculty of Law (FOL)

Assoc. Prof. Ts. Dr. Junaidi Abdullah
Dean, Faculty of Computing and Informatics (FCI)

Ts. Shahfeeq Jibin
Dean, Faculty of Cinematic Arts (FCA)

Prof. Dr. Wong Eng Kiong
Melaka Campus Director


SENATE (CLUSTER REPRESENTATIVES)


Prof. Dr. Wong Chee Onn
Creative Multimedia / Cinematic Arts / Applied Communication Cluster

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Hew Soon Hin
Creative Multimedia / Cinematic Arts / Applied Communication Cluster

Prof. Dr. Ong Duu Sheng
Engineering Cluster

Prof. Ir. Dr. Lim Heng Siong
Engineering Cluster

Prof. Ts. Dr. Heng Swee Huay
Information Technology / Computer Science Cluster

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Wong Lai Kuan
Information Technology / Computer Science Cluster

Prof. Dr. Hishamuddin Ismail
Management / Business / Social Sciences Cluster

Assoc. Prof. Ts. Dr. Chinnasamy Agamudai Nambi Malarvizhi
Management / Business / Social Sciences Cluster

Assoc. Prof. Dr. Dennis Khong Wye Keen
Law Cluster


SENATE EX OFFICIO


Ms. Nor Adni Ismail
Vice President, Finance and Business Ventures (VP F&BV)

Prof. Dr. Wong Chee Onn
Director, Centre for Learning Excellence and Academic Intelligence  (LEARN)

Prof. Dr. Goh Guan Gan
Director, Strategy and Quality Assurance (SQA)

Ms. Nur Azurah Rezo
Academic Registrar / Secretary of Senate


MMU MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mazliham Mohd Su’ud
President/Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

Prof. Ir. Dr. Wong Hin Yong
Vice President, Academic and Innovative Learning (VP AIR)

Prof. Ir. Dr Hairul Azhar Abdul Rashid
Vice President, Market Exploration, Engagement and Touchpoint (VP MEET)

Prof. Dr. Wong Eng Kiong
Vice President, Student Experience and Entrepreneurship Development (VP SEED)

Ms. Nor Adni Ismail
Vice President, Finance and Business Ventures (VP F&BV)

Mr. Zambri Pawanchik
Vice President, Strategic Marketing, Admission and Recruitment (VP SMART)

Dr. Sharlene Thiagarajah
CEO, Telekom Research and Development Sdn. Bhd. (TM R&D)

Ms. Hayati Othman
Senior Director, Human Capital Management (HCM)

Dr. Syed Sham Syed Ja’afar
General Manager, Support Services

Prof. Dr. Goh Guan Gan
Director, Strategy and Quality Assurance (SQA)


PERMANENT INVITEES

Prof. Dr. Wong Eng Kiong
Director, Melaka Campus

Ms. Nur Azurah Rezo
Academic Registrar

FACULTY OF INFORMATION SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (FIST)

DEAN : Prof. Ts. Dr. Lau Siong Hoe
lau.siong.hoe@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3485
DEPUTY DEANS : Ts. Dr. Siti Fatimah Abdul Razak
fatimah.razak@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3315
Prof. Ts. Dr. Ong Thian Song
tsong@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3343
Ts. Dr. Chong Siew Chin
chong.siew.chin@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3008

FACULTY OF COMPUTING AND INFORMATICS (FCI)

DEAN : Assoc. Prof. Ts. Dr. Junaidi Abdullah
junaidi.abdullah@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5445
DEPUTY DEANS : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Lim Tek Yong
tylim@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5289
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chua Fang Fang
ffchua@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5406
Assoc. Prof. Ts. Dr. Ng Kok Why
kwng@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5244

FACULTY OF APPLIED COMMUNICATION (FAC)

DEAN : Dr. Mokhtarrudin Ahmad
mokhtarrudin@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5760
DEPUTY DEANS : Ms. Suhana Mohamed Salleh
suhana.msalleh@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5386
Dr. Kavitha Balakrishnan
kavitha.balakrishnan@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5140
Mr. Azham Md Jahid Shari @ Zahid
azham.mdjahid@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5074

FACULTY OF LAW (FOL)

DEAN : Prof. Dr. Abdul Mohaimin Noordin Ayus
mohaimin.ayus@mmu.edu.my
DEPUTY DEANS : Mr. Amir Nur Ikhwan Amernudin
amir.amernudin@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3246
Ms. Asmida Ahmad
asmida.ahmad@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3753
Ms. Rebecca Mathan
rebecca.mathan@mmu.edu.my
06-252 4386

FACULTY OF CREATIVE MULTIMEDIA (FCM)

DEAN : Ms. Nadia Mahmud
nadia.mahmud@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5632
DEPUTY DEANS : Dr. Sy. Nurleyana Wafa Sy. Naguib Wafa
nurleyana.wafa@mmu.edu.my
Dr. Vimala Perumal
vimala.perumal@mmu.edu.my
Dr. Elyna Amir Sharji
elyna.amir@mmu.edu.my

FACULTY OF CINEMATIC ARTS (FCA)

DEAN : Ts. Shahfeeq Jibin
shahfeeq.jibin@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5796
DEPUTY DEANS : Mr. Tan Jia Cheng
jctan@mmu.edu.my
Mr. Eddy Izuwan Musa
eddyizuwan@mmu.edu.my
Mr. Furqaan Mohamad
furqaan.mohamad@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5155

FACULTY OF MANAGEMENT (FOM)

DEAN : Ts. Dr. Low Jing Hong
jhlow@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5766
DEPUTY DEANS : Dr. Hasni Mohd Hanafi @ Omar
hasni.hanafi@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5685
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tan Booi Chen
bctan@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5721
Dr. Abdullah Al Mamun Sarwar
abdullah.sarwar@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5867

FACULTY OF BUSINESS (FOB)

DEAN : Dr. Siti Zakiah Melatu Samsi
zakiah.melatu@mmu.edu.my
06-252 2454
DEPUTY DEANS : Dr. Hasmida Jamaluddin
hasmida.jamaluddin@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3022
Dr. Yeo Sook Fern
yeo.sook.fern@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3086
Dr. Afandi Yusof
afandi.yusof@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3877

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING AND TECHNOLOGY (FET)

DEAN : Assoc. Prof. Ir. Ts. Dr. Ng Poh Kiat
pkng@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3251
DEPUTY DEANS : Ts. Dr. Yeo Boon Chin
bcyeo@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3354
Prof. Ir. Ts. Dr. Chan Yee Kit
ykchan@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3795
Dr. Liew Kia Wai
kwliew@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3507

FACULTY OF ENGINEERING (FOE)

DEAN : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ooi Chee Pun
cpooi@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5444
DEPUTY DEANS : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tan Wooi Haw
twhaw@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5447
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tan Yi Fei
yftan@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5432
Prof. Ir. Dr. Hezerul Abdul Karim
hezerul@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5499

INSTITUTE FOR POSTGRADUATE STUDIES (IPS)

DEAN : Prof. Ts. Dr. Tee Connie
tee.connie@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3592
DEPUTY DEANS : Dr. Chong Choy Yoke
cychong@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5642
Ts. Dr. Khoh Wee How
whkhoh@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3381

 

STRATEGY AND QUALITY ASSURANCE (SQA)

DIRECTOR : Prof. Dr. Goh Guan Gan
gggoh@mmu.edu.my
06-252 4271
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Arnifa Semawi @ Asmawi
arnifa.asmawi@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5856
Dr. Yvonne Lee Lean Ee
yvonne.lelee@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5184

CENTRE FOR LEARNING EXCELLENCE AND ACADEMIC INTELLIGENCE (LEARN)

DIRECTOR : Prof. Dr. Wong Chee Onn
cowong@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5319
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Wong Lai Kuan
lkwong@mmu.edu.my
Dr. Yip Sook Chin
scyip@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5268

CENTRE FOR LIFELONG LEARNING AND EDUCATIONAL CONTENT DEVELOPMENT (LEAD)

DIRECTOR : Dr. Tenku Putri Norishah Tenku Shariman
tengku.norishah@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5533
DEPUTY DIRECTOR : Ms. Farihan Abdullah @ Ja’afar
farihan@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5530

STUDENT LIFESTYLE AND EXPERIENCE (STYLE)
[Formerly known as STAD]

DIRECTOR : Ms. Sri Kusuma Wati Mohd Daud
kusuma.daud@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5749

ALUMNI ENGAGEMENT, CAREER AND ENTREPRENEURSHIP DEVELOPMENT (ACED)

DIRECTOR : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Ong Jeen Wei
jwong@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5719
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Mr. Quek Albert
quek.albert@mmu.edu.my
Ms. Putri Syaidatul Akma Mohd Adzmi
syaidatul.adzmi@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3651

LEARNING INSTITUTE FOR EMPOWERMENT(LIFE)

DIRECTOR : Dr. Ong Sue Lyn
slong@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5543
DEPUTY DIRECTOR : Dr. Rohaidah Mashudi
idah@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3268

STRATEGIC MARKETING DEPARTMENT (SMD)

DIRECTOR : Ts. Natalya Rudina Dato’ Shamsuar
natalya.shamsuar@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5564

STUDENT RECRUITMENT AND ADMISSION (SRA)

DIRECTOR : Ms. Nalini Pragasam
nalini@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3547

INTERNATIONAL COLLABORATION AND ENGAGEMENT (ICE)

DIRECTOR : Dr. Abdul Aziz Ahmad
aziz.ahmad@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5676
DEPUTY DIRECTOR : Dr. Roopesh Sitharan
rs@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5548

TOUCHPOINT MANAGEMENT OFFICE (TMO)

DIRECTOR : Prof. Ts. Dr. Ervina Efzan Mhd Noor
ervina.noor@mmu.edu.my
06-252 3320
DEPUTY DIRECTOR : Ts. Dr. R. Kanesaraj Ramasamy
r.kanesaraj@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5470

YAYASAN UNIVERSITI MULTIMEDIA (YUM)

DIRECTOR : Mr. Izad Ismail
izad@mmu.edu.my

GOVERNMENT LIAISONS AND INDUSTRY ENGAGEMENT (GLIE)

DIRECTOR / AGM : Datin Noorlindah Hassan
norlinda@mmu.edu.my
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Prof. Ts. Dr. Ting Choo Yee
cyting@mmu.edu.my
03-8312 5217
Dr. Cham Chin Leei
clcham@mmu.edu.my

 

RESEARCH MANAGEMENT CENTRE (RMC)

DIRECTOR : Prof. Ir. Dr. Zulfadzli Yusoff
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Assoc. Prof. Dr. Nor Azlina Ab Aziz
Dr. Lee It Ee

TECHNOLOGY TRANSFER OFFICE (TTO)

DIRECTOR : Dr. Olivia Tan Swee Leng
DEPUTY DIRECTORS : Assoc. Prof. Ts. Dr. Ooi Shih Yin
Mr. Cheong Soon Nyean

 


MMU PRESS

DIRECTOR : Prof. Dr. Tan Siow Hooi
DEPUTY DIRECTOR : Assoc. Prof. Ir. Dr. Lee Lini

 

MMU Adjunct Professors

Multimedia University has appointed qualified pools of experts from the industries, organisations and universities as the Adjunct Professors. These experts would share their knowledge from their life and professional experience. Our students would be able to learn, engage and acquire insights to broaden their learning horizon.

Click here to know more about our Adjunct Professors