The Faculty of Business (FOB) and the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) have once again collaborated in hosting ACCA-MMU Inter-School Accounting Quiz (AMISAQ) 2021, recently. A total of 195 teams participated in the Qualifying Round, with 4 finalist teams advancing to the Final Round.

The first AMISAQ was successfully organised in 2019 with a total of 216 participants from 29 schools in Johor, Melaka, and Negeri Sembilan. Following the successful achievement of AMISAQ 2019, this year, the organiser extended the invitation to all national secondary schools and students in Malaysia. The event, which obtained approval from the Ministry of Education of Malaysia and all the State Education Departments, received overwhelming support from 113 schools and 585 students nationwide.

The main aim of AMISAQ is to assess the understanding and knowledge of students in the accounting field, besides encouraging a healthy competitive spirit among the participants. It also serves as a platform for networking among schools, ACCA, and MMU. During this national event, participants had the opportunity to listen to an informative talk by Mr. Ivan Tan, Senior Manager of Business Development, ACCA Maritime Southeast Asia who shared about the market demand of qualified accountants and the route to becoming an ACCA professional.

Among the 4 finalist teams, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan Tinggi Batu Pahat, Johor has once again emerged as the Champion, defeating MRSM Tun Ghafar Baba, Melaka who came in as 1st runner up. Sekolah Menengah Sains Muzaffar Syah, Melaka was placed third, followed by Sekolah Menengah Kota Kemuning, Selangor. The four winning teams brought home cash prizes of RM1,600, RM1,300, RM1,000 and RM700 respectively.

AMISAQ 2021 also celebrated the achievement of 10 other schools as the consolation prize winners. In addition, the event has also given out prizes to 20 pop quiz winners as well as 30 lucky draw winners, comprising of both teachers and participants. Also present during the event were Prof. Dr. Ho Chin Kuan, Vice President, Academic and International Relations (VP AIR); Dr. Lye Chun Teck, the Dean of FOB and all the Deputy Deans of FOB – Dr. Ng Tuan Hock, Dr. Yeo Sook Fern, Dr. Siti Zakiah Binti Melatu Samsi, and Ms. Nun Shwu Huey.

Congratulations to all winners and well done to the organisers, led by Ms. Lim Su Yin with the support of the Student Recruitment Office (SRO)!

*Photo credit: FOB Facebook page