MMU Lecturer Bags Three Awards at 2020 International Postgraduate Symposium in Tourism and Hospitality

Corporate Communications Department



We are proud to announce that Mr. Tan Gek Siang, our lecturer from the Faculty of Business (FOB) bagged three awards namely the Best Presenter Award, Best Paper Award and Editor’s Pick Award in the Full-Study Competition during the 2020 International Postgraduate Symposium in Tourism and Hospitality (IPSTH 2020). There were 40 international participants took part in this virtual symposium from 20th until 21st November 2020.

Themed as “Tourism Restart and Recovery: Responsibility Today, Sustainability Tomorrow”, the international postgraduate symposium was jointly organised by the National Kaohsiung University of Hospitality and Tourism (Taiwan) and UCSI University (Malaysia). It is aimed to provide an avenue for postgraduate students from all around the world to present and share their research works, as well as to connect postgraduate students to academics, researchers, and practitioners. The symposium also encouraged the participants to facilitate idea generation, discussion, and collaboration related to tourism restart and development in a responsible and sustainable manner. The symposium also featured thesis management workshops and a tourism forum.

Supervised by Assoc. Prof. Dr. Kamarulzaman Ab. Aziz and Dr. Zauwiyah Ahmad, Mr. Tan’s PhD thesis works on developing a framework for mobile augmented reality application success and world heritage sites sustainability. The Full-Study Competition provides a platform for the participants to effectively explain the study in a language which is appropriate to a non-specialist audience within 5 minutes, using only three static slides. The judging committee made up of Prof. Dr. Chang Hsuan Hsuan (Ming Chuan University, Taiwan), Asst. Prof. Dr. Cham Tat Huei (University Tunku Abdul Rahman, Malaysia), Dr. Lilibeth Aragon (Lyceum of the Philippines University, Philippines), and Dr.Aaron Tham (University of the Sunshine Coast, Australia).

Congratulations, Mr. Tan Gek Siang!