The first edition of the International Conference on Advanced Science, Engineering and Technology (MECON) was held successfully at MMU Cyberjaya recently. The conference serves as an avenue for researchers and academicians to present their innovative ideas in Nano- and Micro-Electronics, Wireless and Telecommunications, Electrical Engineering, Photonics and Optics, as well as Industry 4.0. A total of 88 manuscripts were received as submission, out of which 56 were accepted for oral presentations.

The conference kicked off with an opening speech from the General Chair, Professor Ir. Dr. Wong Hin Yong. The event was also graced by 5 distinguished keynote speakers, each well renowned in their respective fields namely Dato’ Seri Wong Siew Hai, Mdm. Hazami Habib, Professor Richard De La Rue, Professor Asoke K. Nandi and Professor M. L. Dennis Wong. In addition, this conference was sponsored by Yayasan Universiti Multimedia (YUM) as well as 10 major industry players – Intel Microelectronics (M) Sdn. Bhd., Infineon Technologies (Kulim) Sdn. Bhd., Finisar (M) Sdn. Bhd., Inari-Amertron Bhd., Celestica (M) Sdn. Bhd., Keysight Technologies (M) Sdn. Bhd., Motorola Solutions (M) Sdn. Bhd., Exis Tech Sdn. Bhd., Vitrox Technologies Sdn. Bhd. and Jabil Sdn. Bhd, who set up exhibition booths and gave presentations to showcase their latest innovative products and services.

Besides the presenters and participants, more than 60 staff from Melaka and Cyberjaya campuses also attended the conference. Undergraduate students benefitted not only from the keynote speeches and conference presentations, but also the free workshops organised by Intel and FOE staff:  OpenVINO 101- A Quick Guide to Deep Learning Deployment, Introduction to Machine Learning with Python and Hands-on Computational Optimization & Applications using Microsoft Excel. This inaugural conference concluded with a video presentation, closing remarks from Associate Professor Dr. Lee Ching Kwang, who also served as the General Chair, as well as presentation of 5 top winners of the Final Year Project (FYP) Facebook Popularity Challenge and 5 Best Paper Awards.

Well done!