MMU through its Faculty of Business (FOB) once again joined hands with the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) in conducting the national-level quiz competition known as ACCA-MMU Inter School Accounting Quiz (AMISAQ) 2022. A total of 140 teams from secondary schools nationwide participated in the Qualifying Round, with six finalist teams advancing to the Final Round, which was held in a virtual mode, recently.

AMISAQ aimed to assess the knowledge and understanding of students in the accounting field as well as to encourage a healthy competitive spirit among the participants. Moreover, the event also strengthened the relationship and networking among schools, ACCA, and MMU. On top of that, the participants also received insightful knowledge from an informative talk by Mr. Ivan Tan Chee Weng, Senior Business Relationship Manager Education Relationships-Maritime Southeast Asia sharing the market demand for qualified accountants and the route to becoming an ACCA professional during the event.

As a result, Sekolah Menengah Kebangsaan (SMK) Raja Jumaat, Negeri Sembilan emerged as the champion, followed by Sekolah Menengah Imtiaz Yayasan Terengganu Kuala Terengganu as the first runner-up and Sekolah Sultan Alam Shah, Putrajaya as the second runner up. They received cash prizes worth RM1,600, RM1,300, and RM1,000 respectively. Three teams were placed as the third runner up, one team was from SMK Tinggi Batu Pahat, Johor and two teams from Sekolah Menengah Jenis Kebangsaan (SMJK) Pei Hwa, Johor with the winning prize of RM700 each team.

In addition, the event also celebrated the achievement of 15 other schools as the consolation prize winners with the cash prize of RM100 respectively. The organiser also gave out prizes to 35 pop quiz winners as well as 50 lucky draw winners, comprising both teachers and students. The opening ceremony was attended by Mr. Ivan Tan Chee Weng, Senior Business Relationship Manager Education Relationships-Maritime Southeast Asia; Mr. Zambri Pawanchik, Vice President of Strategic Marketing, Admission and Recruitment (SMART); Dr. Lye Chun Teck, Dean of FOB; and Deputy Deans namely Dr. Ng Tuan Hock, Dr. Yeo Sook Fern, and Dr. Siti Zakiah Melatu Samsi and the organising committee which was led by Ms. Nun Shwu Huey.

Well done!