Prof. Dato’ Dr. Mazliham Mohd Su’ud, the President of MMU attended a virtual prize-giving ceremony of MMU Merdeka Celebration Contest 2021 on 16th September 2021. There were 94 submissions from staff and students for three categories namely Essay Writing Competition, Poster Design Competition, and Poem Recitation Contest.

This contest aimed at cultivating and igniting the spirit of patriotism amongst the MMU community. The contest also served as an avenue for students and staff to highlight their talent and creativity. The event was moderated by Mr. Francis Augustine Soosay, academic staff from the Faculty of Law (FOL).

The event was also enlivened with a performance by Ms. Putri Nurul ‘Aainaa Rusli from the Faculty of Management (FOM) with a song entitled ‘Warisan’ in commemorating the Malaysia Day. As a result, Jeffrey Quek Shue Yew from the Faculty of Business (FOB) clinched the first prize for Essay Writing (Bahasa Malaysia) and Muhammad Irwan Azri Ruslan from the Faculty of Computing and Informatics (FCI) won second place. For the Essay Writing (English) category, Liveernieesh a/l Ramakrishnan from the Faculty of Law (FOL) won first place, and Nadin Hossam Youssef Ezzeldin Mohamed from the Faculty of Creative Multimedia (FCM) secured second place. The first prize winners received cash prizes of RM500, and the second-place winners obtained cash prizes of RM250.

For the poster design competition, Rafiza Romlee from Graduate School of Management secured first place and walked away with a cash prize of RM600, while Kee Yi De from FCM won second place and received a cash prize of RM300. As for the poem recitation contest, both winners were from FOB where Natasha Iskandar emerged as the winner and received RM600, and second place went to Aizul Zarith Azween Zulkifli and she obtained RM300. On top of that, the event also witnessed the announcement of consolation prizes to selected winners for all categories. Visit this page to view the winners’ entries.

Also attending the event were Mr. Zambri Pawanchik, Vice President of Strategic Marketing, Admission and Recruitment (SMART), and panel judges namely Yang Mulia Tengku Kastriafuddin Shah Tengku Yaakob, Director of Cultural Centre, Universiti Malaysia Perlis (UNIMAP), Dr. Syed Nurul Akla Syed Abdullah, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Modern Languages and Communication, Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM), and Dr. Fauzan Mustaffa, Lecturer of Faculty of Creative Multimedia (FCM).