MMU Researchers Clinch 16 Medals and Best Woman Inventor Award at ITEX 2021

Multimedia University (MMU) clinched 16 medals at the 32nd International Invention, Innovation and Technology Exhibition 2021 (ITEX 2021) that was held from 13 December until 14 December 2021. Our researchers grabbed 10 gold medals, 3 silver, and another 3 bronze medals during the closing ceremony at Kuala Lumpur Convention Centre (KLCC). Not only that, a team which was led by Dr. Olivia Tan Swee Leng not only bagged a gold medal but also the Best Woman Inventor Award for the invention, The “New Normal’ with Age Friendly Time-Banking.

Adopting a hybrid model of an online and physical exhibition this year, ITEX 2021 received close to 500 inventions from participants across 15 countries. Jointly organised by MINDS and C.I.S Network Sdn Bhd, the theme for this year was ‘Reset, Reinvent, Reimagining’.


The following is a list of medal winners from MMU:

Gold Medal
Ts. Dr. Siti Fatimah Binti Abdul Razak

(Members: Ts. Sumendra Yogarayan, Ts. Dr. Afizan Azman, Ts. Mohd Fikri Azli Abdullah, Ts. Siti Zainab Ibrahim, Kirbana Jai Raman)

A Seamless Mobility for Vehicle to Vehicle Communications
Ts. Dr. Siti Fatimah Binti Abdul Razak

(Members: Ts. Sumendra Yogarayan, Muhammad Nizammudin Azlan, Ts. Mohd Fikri Azli Abdullah and Prof. Madya. Ts. Dr. Afizan Azman)


Air Quality Monitoring Tool for Passenger Vehicles
Ts. Dr. Goh Pey Yun

(Members: How Han Siang, Hui Min Shien, Ts. Dr. Ooi Shih Yin, Ts. Dr. Chong Lee Ying)

3D Indoor University / Building Map
Dr. Olivia Tan Swee Leng

(Members: Ts. Dr. Ooi Shih Yin, Rossanne Gale Vergara,  , Dr. Shereen Khan,  Dr. Nasreen Khan and Foo Yuen Wah)

The “New Normal” with Age Friendly Time-Banking
Ts. Prof. Dr. Tan Shing Chiang

(Members: Prof. Ir. Dr. Sim Kok Swee, Lim Zheng You, Toa Chean Khim)

Left and Right Brain Balancing Application with EEG Biofeedback System
Ms. Diyana Binti Abdul Mahad @ Abdul Hamid

(Members: Azrena Mohd Noor, Nursyamimi Houd, Nurul Nadia Nordin, Nurzarina Md Yatim)

Mr. Vincent Chan

(Members: Suphapon A/P Udom, Lee Yu Hui, Yeo Jun Siang, Slyvia Ong Zhi Wei)

Ir. Dr. Wong Wai Kit

(Members: Mr. Turki Khaled Salem, Dr. Min Thu Soe, Prof. Dr. Wong Eng Kiong)

Malaysian Banknotes Reader Featuring Counterfeit Detection for RM1 and RM5 Using Backlight Mechanism and Image Processing Techniques
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mardeni Bin Roslee

(Members: Abdulraqeb Alhammadi, Osama Abu Ajwa , Khairil Anuar, Shazrulnizam Huzairi Md Hashim)

Automated Self-Optimization Handover for Throughput Maximization in 5G Networks
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mardeni Bin Roslee

(Members: Osama Abu Ajwa, Zubaida Binti Yusoff, Abdulraqeb Alhammadi, Shazrulnizam Huzairi Md Hashim)

Intelligent Resource Allocation for Downlink NOMA in Velocity based Cellular 5G Networks


Silver Medal
Mr. Vincent Chan

(Members: Tai Hen Toong, Dr. Yeow Jian Ai, Cedric Choong, Lim Siok Jin)

Mr. Vincent Chan

(Members: Mr. Manivanan Sehgar, Ms. Izyan A’qila Wan Ahmad Faizal)

Prof. Dr. Hezerul Bin Abdul Karim

(Members: Nouar AlDahoul, Mohammad Faizal Bin Ahmad Fauzi)


Real Time Distortion Classification for Laparoscopic Video


Bronze Medal
Prof. Dr. Hezerul Bin Abdul Karim

(Members: Nouar AlDahoul, Chia Jason, Mohammad Faizal Bin Ahmad Fauzi, CW K, Lim Yan Peng, Chin Ji Jian, Over Kam)

Form Recognition and OCR (Optical Character Recognition) for Claims Automation
Dr. Umar Nirmal

(Members: Sharveswaran A/L Ananthan)

Development of a smart wiper washing system for automotive car windscreen cleaning application
Ts. Dr. Noramiza Binti Hashim

(Members: Siti Nur Izzati Zulkeefli, Aqilah Ahmad Rafi, Shahbe Md Desa, Aziah Ali, Wan Noorshahida Mohd Isa, Junaidi Abdullah, Zarina Che Embi)

Vision-Based Halal Logo Recognition