News and Events

Find out whats going on at our campuses.

MMU Celebrates its 4,555 Graduates in 18th Convocation Ceremony 2017

Multimedia University (MMU), the Premier Digital Tech University together with Multimedia Collage (MMC) celebrated its 4,555 graduates in the Convocation Ceremony 2017 at Dewan Tun Canselor, Cyberjaya from 10 until 12 September 2017.

At the ceremony, YABhg, Tun Dato’ Seri Zaki Tun Azmi, the Chancellor of MMU conferred an Honorary Doctor in Knowledge Science to Yang Amat Berhormat (YAB) Datuk Seri Utama Ir. (Dr.) Haji Idris bin Haji Haron, the Chief Minister of Melaka, in recognition of his contributions in championing the utilisation and pursuit of knowledge among the general public.

Hon Doc Stand

The ceremony was witnessed by Tan Sri Dato Seri Dr. Sulaiman Mahbob, the Chairman of Telekom Malaysia (TM) and Datuk Seri Mohammed Shazalli Ramly, the Group Chief Executive Officer (GCEO) of TM, Prof. Datuk Dr. Ahmad Rafi Mohamed Eshaq, the President of MMU as well as representatives from other universities in Malaysia.

The 4,048 MMU graduates were in the fields of Engineering, Information Technology, Cinematic Arts, Creative Multimedia, Life Sciences, Management, Accounting and Law at the diploma, undergraduate, and postgraduate levels. Of the total, 283 were expatriates, while the remaining 3,764 were local graduates. In addition, the the graduation of 507 diploma students from MMC, MMU’s subsidiary.

Canselor and Pro

During the ceremony, YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Sri Dr. Halim Shafie, the Chairman of the Malaysian Communications and Multimedia Commission (MCMC), was proclaimed as the new Pro-Chancellor of MMU. The post was vacant following the passing of the late YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Ir. Muhammad Radzi Hj Mansor on 21 July 2017. A minute of silence was observed, during which attendees offered their prayers.

President Award Family

At the ceremony, a Bachelor of Accounting student, Elyn Kuan Yie Meng, received the President Award while Md Asifur Rahman be given the Alumni Award from YABhg, Tun Dato’ Seri Zaki Tun Azmi. Elyn Kuan graduated with CGPA of 3.98 and placed in the Dean List for all her trimester and she was honoured with the World Prize – First Place as well as Howitt Prize for her second paper in January 2017. As for Md Asifur, he was the President of International Society and completed his Bachelor of Information Technology majoring in Management with First Class Honors and CGPA of 3.88.

At the ceremony, a couple of husband and wife, Mr. Segaran Veeraya, 49, and Dr. Sharmini Gopinathan, 44, has successfully reached heights through their completion of Masters and Philosophy Doctor (PhD) and graduated together. On top of that, there were two disabled students Chan Wei Jian and Ahmad Amin Abd Rashid received their scrolls of Diploma in Information Technology, whereby a tinge of sadness marked as one of the graduates, Pan Kok Keong from the Faculty of Business, had passed away recently.

On top of that, a student of Diploma in Engineering MMC, Faheem Ahmad Wassem Ahmad was announced as recipient of Anugerah Bestari while Abdul Wadud Mohd Shazeli and Raihan Kasim received their Anugerah Ilmu by MMC.


Canselor and Pro

Disable received


Congratulation to all MMU and MMC graduates!